Franchising’s best honoured

trophyThe Franchise Council of Australia (FCA) has honoured the industry’s best at the MYOB FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards.

South Australia-based Wendy’s Supa Sundaes was named Australian Established Franchisor of the Year, while Shingle Inn Cafes was twice honoured in the Australian Emerging Franchisor of the Year and Franchisee of the Year, two or more staff category.

Optometry and retail franchise, OPSM, also took out two awards on the night, Excellence in Marketing and Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff awards.

Held in Sydney, there were 13 awards presented with successful individuals and businesses recognised across a range of functions including franchisees, support staff, and franchise systems.

Accepting the inaugural award for International Franchisor of the Year, Peter Larson, director of Professional Services at Specsavers, said the Australian arm of the business now influences the original European brand.

“In the early days it was about transferring the (franchise) model to Australia. As the Australian model grew and the people grew, the model evolved. In fact the learnings and success we’ve had here, we’ve been able to push back to the parent company,” Larson said.

The awards also included the induction of a new member into the Franchise Hall of Fame, psychologist and author, Greg Nathan, founder of the Franchise Relationships Institute.

Nathan spoke of a vibrant Australian franchise sector after accepting his award.

The Australian franchise sector has a genuine commitment to success for franchisees as well as franchisors. I think it comes from our ethos of giving everyone a fair go. We also have a strong commitment to quality and excellence, and to top it off we’re incredibly innovative,” Nathan said.

MYOB FCA Excellence in Franchising Awards 2014 Winners

Australian Established Franchisor of the Year
 – Wendy’s Supa Sundaes 

Australian Emerging Franchisor of the Year 
– Shingle Inn 

International Franchisor of the Year – Specsavers

Multi-Unit Franchisee of the Year – Brad and Matt Walker, Grill’d Camberwell, Knox and Southland

Franchisee of the Year, two or more staff
 – April and Tony Carnie, Nicki Nesbitt and Wiesiek Lewandowski, Shingle Inn Mount Ommaney

Franchisee of the Year, less than two staff
 – Rowan Prendergast, OPSM Waurn Ponds

Franchise Woman of the Year 
– Sharon Jurd, HydroKleen Australia

Field Manager of the Year – Danika Heslop, Jamaica Blue

Supplier of the Year – Shift8

Excellence in Marketing

Franchisor Social Responsibility
 – Specsavers

Franchisee Community Responsibility and Contribution – David Price, Grill’d Cairns

Franchise Hall of Fame Inductee 2014 – Greg Nathan, Franchise Relationships Institute


Comment Manually

I have read and agree to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inside Retail Polls

Do you offer staff the opportunity to earn degrees/certifications while working at your business?


Nominations for 2020 Retailer Awards are officially open! Tag retailers you believe provide exceptional customer ex…

1 week ago

Retail industry bodies including @OZretailers and @retailaustralia are calling on @QldGov to abandon plans to make…

2 weeks ago

At the @OZretailers national retail awards! Looking forward to see who takes what! #retail #nra #awards

2 weeks ago

FREE NEWS BRIEFS Get breaking news delivered